SAHMRI restructure: A new era in research excellence

16 Jul 2019
SAHMRI restructure: A new era in research excellence

In a little over five years SAHMRI has grown from an idea into a thriving research community of more than 450 staff and 300 additional partners. In response to this growth, a new structure has been determined to better reflect the institute's research and translational strengths. It was also important to better reflect our vision for the future of health and medical research and the health care system, to create and deliver optimised, precision health care solutions for all Australians, across their life course, with a spotlight on greater living.

The restructure was multifaceted, identifying a need for:


  • The creation of a clear, concise narrative that reflects the strengths of the research at SAHMRI.


Improved visibility of: 

  • The next generation of research leaders, including a gender equity impact assessment (GEIA).
  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Research Leaders.
  • Our commitment to health translation and impact, through practice, policy and commercialisation.


  • The replacement of outgoing research leader Professor Stephen Nicholls to a national leadership position at Monash University.


Leadership worked to create a research organisational structure which they believed would promote collaboration, success and which had longevity, and which was aligned with our vision for the future of health. Following extensive consultation, across multiple SAHMRI sites, we worked with SAHMRI staff and partners to hone the language for theme names. Key to this process was scientific integrity (names which resonated with peers and colleagues), accessible language for the public and a sense of belonging for the staff.


In addition to achieving gender equity at the Deputy Director Level, we are proud that the new structure gives visibility to the next generation of research leadership here at SAHMRI, and that eight of the 17 research programs are led by women. In addition to this, five of the 17 research programs have Aboriginal leadership.


During this reorganisation, two Deputy Director positions were retained (previously three positions), and are now held by Professor Maria Makrides and Professor Alex Brown.

Professor Steve Wesselingh remains as SAHMRI Executive Director.

We thank you for your patience during this period of transition while we build our new web platform. If you need assistance locating information on staff, research programs or platforms please contact us at