SAHMRI Executive Director to chair prestigious Research Committee

28 Sep 2018
SAHMRI Executive Director to chair prestigious Research Committee

The South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute (SAHMRI) Community would like to congratulate its Executive Director, Professor Steve Wesselingh, on his appointment as Chair of the National Health and Medical Research Council’s (NHMRC) Research Committee for the next three years.

The Chairman of SAHMRI’s Board, Mr Raymond Spencer, says the appointment is another endorsement of the world-class research being performed at SAHMRI under Professor Wesselingh’s leadership. 

“It’s incredible to think of what’s been achieved at SAHMRI in less than five years,” Mr Spencer said. 

“Steve’s guidance, not to mention his own elite standards of research, has played an enormous part in establishing a culture that drives those achievements, which have a lasting impact in South Australia and beyond.” 

Professor Wesselingh says he is humbled by the appointment and excited by the opportunity to take a leading role in facilitating life-changing medical research within Australia.

“The NHMRC’s Research Committee has a record of excellence in providing grants and other research support to improve the health and quality of life for everyday Australians,” he said.

“I am confident that this outstanding new Council of the NHMRC, announced today by the Federal Minister for Health, The Honourable Greg Hunt, will continue to promote excellence and innovation among Australia’s medical research community.”

The NHMRC has a critical role in identifying and supporting the highest quality of research and researchers. It is also responsible for the provision of evidence-based advice to governments and the community, national frameworks to uphold the highest ethical standards in health care and research, and the regulation of research involving humans and embryos.

The NHMRC Research Committee is responsible for the allocation of more than $800m annually across individual research projects, broad research programs, training awards, fellowships and special research units.

The other new and returning members of the new Council of the NHMRC announced today are: 

  • Professor Bruce Robinson AM (Council Chair)
  • Professor Ingrid Winship (Chair, Australian Health Ethics Committee)
  • Professor Sharon Lewin (Chair, Health Translation Advisory Committee)
  • Dr Katherine Woodthorpe AO (Chair, Helath Innovation Advisory Committee)
  • Professor Sandra Eades
  • The Honourable Judi Moylan AO
  • Professor Brendan Crabb AC
  • Professor Ian Frazer AC
  • Professor Ingrid Scheffer AO
  • Dr Michael Gannon
  • Professor Caroline Homer AO
  • Professor Maree Teesson AC
  • Professor Carol Pollock
  • Professor Alison Venn